1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Dummy's guide to adding bracing, help

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by morewattsplease, Feb 9, 2013.

1. morewattsplease

morewattsplease

I've got an emperor 4x12 staggered vertical, and I love it. Its got guts, its loud, its gorgeous.

However. I do want to address vibration issues, and I would like to experience the benefits of adding bracing to an emperor that others have said they experienced.

Please don't flame emperor, I like my cabinet a lot, its really pretty, it probably won't be my last cabinet purchase but i don't think I'll ever sell it. I want advice on this subject, not to be told to use a time machine and not buy it.

I don't want to drill through my cab if it can be avoided.

I've looked at other things here about bracing, but I'm a real noob on this stuff.

Where does the bracing go, how do I attach it to the cab's inside if I don't want to drill (if possible), what materials will I need...
    I looked at greenboy, and I can't yet figure out how to apply his diagrams to a non fearful design

I'm gonna keep trying but some basic plain language advice will be appreciated.

2. rpsands

rpsands

You need to look inside to determine where the bracing needs to go.

Most likely you will need to remove all the woofers to work on it safely.

The easiest after-market bracing to add is dowels usually.

3. dhsierra1

dhsierra1

If it's 3/4" plywood construction I'd use braces made from 1/2" birch that's 1.5" wide glued longitudinally and latitudinally spaced around 8" apart.

You glue the 1/2" side to the walls of the cab as you see in the Greenboy diagrams. Don't bother using braces in the corners, that's already the strongest part of the cabinet.