1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Dunlop Dual Design locks not workimg in basswood

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by el_cody_loco, Feb 23, 2014.

1. el_cody_loco

el_cody_loco

Disclaimer: I've been playing for years, but technologically, I'm a novice.

I bought a Vintage Modified series Squier Bass, and I like it. HOWEVER, when installimg Dunlop Dual Design strap lock pins, the screws dont fit very well. The pin in the upper horn seems to be a little hard to screw in all the way, and the pin in the bottom ofnthe body is spinning, despite me tightening it as much as I can.

This is the first bass with a basswood body that I've put these locks on, and since I've had no issues with other Fenders or even Gibsons of other tone woods like Alder and Mahogany, I'm wonderimg if basswood is unfortunately not good for this, or if I just don't know what I'm doing. Any advice would be immensely helpful :)
  2. hdracer

hdracer Supporting Member

Just put some wax on the screw first and use a GOOD screwdriver that fits the screw properly.
  3. floydman

floydman Supporting Member