Dyeing a bubinga fingerboard?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by RobJ, Jan 2, 2013.

1. RobJ

RobJ Supporting Member

Total newb here with zero knowledge regarding luthiery and woods in general so please be gentle if this is a dumb question.

I'm wondering if a bubinga fretboard can be dyed black (or close to it). I have a bass with an unfinished board that just does not look good with the bass' finish which is transparent blue (the top wood is flame maple). To my eye an ebony board would look great but i was hoping I might be able to dye the bubinga instead and get a good result.

There are a few sources like Stew Mac for this type of dye but even if it could be done I'm not sure which product would be best really.

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,
  2. Musiclogic

Musiclogic

Disclosures:
    Owner/Builder: HJC Customs USA, The Cool Lute, C G O
    No, Bubinga will only hold a little of the color
  3. Konquest

Konquest

Bubinga is far too dense and hard to ebonize, so that's out, but there are a variety of woods that can be ebonized effectively. With ebony becoming more scarce and expensive, there are a variety of ways that woodworkers ebonize other woods from chemical reactions like iron and vinegar, to using leather dye, to a combination of methods. Do a google search on "ebonizing wood".
  4. line6man

line6man

Yeah, Bubinga does not take dyes well. I've tried dying pickup cavities black with leather dye, and the results were satisfactory for that application, but it would look awful for any aesthetic effect.
  5. RobJ

RobJ Supporting Member

Just my luck. Many thanks for the responses. Now to see what it might cost to have a new board made up to replace the bubinga one.

Thanks again!
  6. Musiclogic

Musiclogic

Disclosures:
    Owner/Builder: HJC Customs USA, The Cool Lute, C G O