Dynamics

Discussion in 'Ask the Berklee Bass Department' started by fnordlyone, Dec 12, 2013.

1. fnordlyone

fnordlyone Supporting Member

To the the pro it might concern:

I am a beginner. I started mid April of this year. I am 43 years old. I don't know much, but I think the key to "tone," "groove," and "rhythm," to my ear while playing with my fingers isÂ….
    Dynamics, by which I mean: force of attack, vibrato, etc: the volume and sound of each note in succession.

Even playing a favorite song can turn into finger exercises (every note is there, but:meh:), or concentrate on what I'm calling the dynamics of the progression of notes and :).

I don't even know if any of this makes musical sense, but I'd like to learn more about what I'm discoveringÂ… Are there exercises from the elders that can help me develop dynamic dexterity?

thanks vets,
    f n o r d !

2. nanymoa

nanymoa

Try playing octaves of different volume. It's a good and simple exercise.

G -------------------| ------------------ | ----5---5---5---5--|
    D -------------------| ---5---5---5---5- |--3---3----3---3----|
    A ----5---5---5---5-| -3---3---3---3--- |---------------------|
    E --3---3---3---3---| ------------------ | --------------------|
    //*///* /////*////////////*////*/////*////////////*///////*/////*////

Loop each one of the above examples. Accentuate the notes marked with the star.
    Make your own combinations and practice a lot.

Hope it helps.

3. Danny Morris

Danny Morris Berklee Bass Department