Ear Training/Note Recognition

Discussion in 'Ask Anthony Wellington' started by remcult, Mar 29, 2014.

1. remcult

remcult Supporting Member

Hi Anthony,

I'm wondering if you have any specific tips/exercises for training my ear to identify notes, chord qualities, chord progressions, etc. Thanks!
  2. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

3. remcult

Great, thank you. This should help with transcribing?
  4. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

And sing EVERYTHING you play!

-aw
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

And everything you study about music groks with everything else.
    -aw
  7. remcult

: ) I didn't know I could think higher of you, and here you go and use "grok". Thanks Anthony, much appreciated
  8. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

Hilarious!!!!
  9. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

I'm a musician and I have a poetic license! I'm always making up words!

Traytoot!

I just made that up!!!!

-aw
  10. remcult

11. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

Nice!

Well, a traytoot is a person who makes up words in an effort to sound smarter than he really is.
    ccbass71 likes this.
  12. tonik101

tonik101

Definitely sing everything to help internalize & consolidate! Auralia ear training software is worth a look. The full blown program is great, and they also have started releasing some single topic apps (interval recognition, interval singing) - http://www.risingsoftware.com/mobile/
  13. Bassman197835

Bassman197835

lol! Music def! "groks" with everything else. Never again will I say "goes with" only "groks"
  14. mjl422

mjl422

Hey Anthony,

I was reading in "This is your brain on music" or "The outliers" (can't remember which one) where it talked about ear-training becoming more difficult as you get older.

Should musicians who stsrted playing later in life approach ear-training differently or is it just a matter of doing MORE of the same things to "catch up"?
  15. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

Good question 442!