Effects chain and usage questions

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by grunge_freak, Mar 2, 2014.

1. grunge_freak

grunge_freak

Hey guys, so I have been playing bass for quite a few years now but I have just recently started to get a good collection of effects pedals for the style of music I play. The pedals I have are: EHX bass big muff pi, Boss ODB-3 bass overdrive, Boss BF-2 and BF-3 flangers (had a BF-3 already and my uncle gave me an old BF-2 lol), and an EHX small clone chorus. So my question is, in what order should I run these pedals into my amp? I love the different types of tone combos I can get with these, I play mostly hard rock and me and my buddy play some trippy/jazzy alternative stuff so these pedals are great but having just recently obtained some of them I'd like a pro opinion on what order to run in them, and how to optimize my sound as well. Any input you guys have on making these effects sound great is welcomed. Thank you!

P.S., trying to decide which one of my flanger pedals I should sell.. I will admit that the BF-2, as most people say, does have a better tone but I feel like the BF-3 has more versatility for weirder sounds so I can't decide, maybe I should just keep both lol

2. Adamixoye

Adamixoye A PT Pro is cool for worship, right? Supporting Member

The answer you're always going to get for this is to try things different ways and see what sounds best to you. I think people generally prefer dirt (Muff & ODB-3) running into modulation (chorus and flangers), though some people definitely do it the other way around. I would probably go Muff -> ODB-3 -> flangers -> chorus.

3. grunge_freak

grunge_freak

Right, see I thought it was dirt before modulation but then some article online said modulation before dirt. So I was somewhat confused on what the general consensus is but thank you good sir

4. Swimming Bird

Swimming Bird

I would go: BF-3 >> BBMP >> BF-2 >> ODB >> Small Stone. Or just mod fuzz mod drive mod.