1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Effects loop question

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Squidpixel, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. Squidpixel

    Squidpixel

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be a stupid question, but here it goes.

    Sy you have a back line rig(ampeg pf800 or GK MB800) and I didn't want the tone of the back line amp, does it bypass the apms preamp to plug my own preamp into the FX return?

    Is the FX loop in effectively an insert to the heads power section?

    Will this work without there being something plugged into the amplifiers instrument input?

    Thanks in advance

    -The Dr.
  2. Got2SadowskyNYC

    Got2SadowskyNYC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Artist: Sadowsky, Bag End, Visual Sound, Pedaltrain, George L
    Depends on where the loop is in the circuit.

    I use an EBS microbass 2 pre and have tried it with GKs. It works pretty good.

    I've tried it with other Ampegs but not with the PFs. It doesn't work as well.

    You'll need some kind of preamp regardless. Not just the preamp in your bass.

    If you do this with an amp with a wet/dry knob you'll need to set it to full wet.
  3. Squidpixel

    Squidpixel

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should have said that I intend on carrying either 3leaf or eden preamp pedal and would like to bypass the back line preamp section of amp in order to bring my own tone to the table.
  4. Squidpixel

    Squidpixel

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't appear that many of the new micro amps have an effects blend or disengage.

    On a side note, I kinda wish that the ampeg svp had an instrument input on the back and a bypass(pass through) function.

    I was thinking it would be slick to have "the ampeg sound" as an effect.
  5. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Likes Received:
    6
    In most cases, yes.
  6. Jeff Scott

    Jeff Scott Don't just TalkBass - PlayBass! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both of my micro amps (Walter Woods Super and Aguilar Tone Hammer 500) have effects returns that can do what you want.
  7. Squidpixel

    Squidpixel

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool. Thanks guys :)
  8. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only one I know of that doesn't function as poweramp in is Markbass.

Share This Page