1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Effects Newbie: Advice on Chain: Indignant Guitarist

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Rat Blitz, Apr 1, 2014.

1. Rat Blitz

Rat Blitz

Ok I'm looking for a little advice on setting up my pedal chain. I'm brand new to effects until about 3 months ago so I sold a couple basses to load up with (way more than) everything i could ever possibly need in effectsland.
    This is my current chain (all going direct to Amp input). I was getting some hiss when I tried using the effects send/return loop on several of the pedals and splitting the chain between effects send and direct input ... but I'll try again some time down the road.

This is the chain from start to back. Anything I'm doing really wrong? I haven't had a lot of time to experiment as much as I would like and it's a bit of a new world for me.

Planet Waves Strobe Tuner
    MXR Bass Compressor (need more time to tweak)
    EBS Octabass Octive
    Boss OBD-3 Bass Over Drive
    Wounded Paw Battering Ram Fuzz/Distortion (GREAT PEDAL)
    Tech 21 SansAmp Programmable Bass Driver
    Boss Flanger BF-3
    Boss PH-2 Super Phaser (sure wish I could find song to play it in)
    Boss Chorus Ensemble CE-5
    Boss DD-20 Delay (need more time to tweak)

Then direct input into amp (usually MarkBass Tube800 with SWR Goliath III 4x10 and Yorkville 410B)

One last bit of gear coming to complete the setup is Behringer Synth pedal but it's on back order in Canada until JUNE if you can believe it!

I haven't figured out a lot of it yet but I'm hoping to get extended time up north this year so I figure I'll have time to sit down and experiment (on rainy days or when the bugs are biting too badly anyway :cool: