Electric Bass for Upright Player

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by turf3, Apr 2, 2014.

1. turf3

turf3

So, let's talk about going the other way.

I've been playing upright for about three years now. My background is saxophone, so I have no background on electric bass. As with many other people, there are situations where it is really really difficult to deal with a double bass. Typically for me this is either an issue of transportation, or of a very restricted space in which to play. So, I am thinking about getting a solid body electric bass.

I play mostly bluegrass and a traditional jazz. I am not playing at a very high level (although I am having a great time, and I think I'm improving every day). I don't think I need to invest $1500+ in a super duper US made all the bells and whistles electric bass, nor do I want to.

What would the group here think about something like the Squier Precision Bass starter kit, with careful adjustment of string heights, fretboard relief, etc., and a set of flatwound strings - maybe with some foam rubber under the strings to cut the ringing? I am confident I can make adjustments on an electric bass; I have thirty years in mechanical engineering and have completely rebuilt all types of equipment and musical instruments (although I am not planning to do anything too wild with my double bass!) Anyway, a bass like that is cheap enough that even in the worst case scenario I would not be losing much.

Would a bass like that be adequately playable for root-fifth and walkups, or a little 4-4 walking on a trad jazz tune, given that I am playing at a very amateur level? Is the build quality of these bottom-feeder basses so low that I need to bump up the budget to get something usable?

Thanks.

2. DogBone

DogBone