Electric for Salsa

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by gimmeagig, Jun 6, 2010.

1. gimmeagig

gimmeagig

I posted this question on the Basses forum but I just realized that this might be a better place for it.
    I have a 35" scale heavily modified KSD 5 string bass.I just put a set of DR flats on it( my first flat set ever) I have another set of Sadowsky long scale flats on order because I first tried the DRs on a 34" bass and i cut them too short (so stupid!)for the KSD.I'm worried they might slip off the posts on a gig.
    I want to use this bass specifically for Salsa and want to get something close to the big fat Ampeg baby Bass sound where the fundamental just hits you in the chest.
    Are there any salsa electric players here who could give me some pointers on setup/technique/EQ on this subject.BTW I'm not a beginner. I'm working my way through Stagnaro's Latin bass Book and Funkyfying the clave and other books along those lines.I'm also trying to download everything from youtube I can find.I know a lot about how to get that Marcus tone but this Salsa thing is kind of unfamiliar territory for me.
    I live in Northern Idaho so there isn't a great demand for Salsa( or Marcus) unfortunately but I still want to get this together.
  2. rbolanos

rbolanos

Hi,
    I just to be in your position a while back, and before I had an ampeg baby bass, I used to have a RBX yamaha bass with medium to high action, right hand closer to neck pick up to simulate that thump....in reality as you know nothing compares to the real deal, but some of these tips might get that vibe.
    I would probably try some DR lowriders nickel....
    good luck
  3. ugly_bassplayer

ugly_bassplayer Supporting Member

Foam mute works great IMO.
    It helps for getting the low sustain thud of the Baby bass.
  4. elgecko

elgecko

Flats are good. You can stuff some foam under the strings near the bridge. For EQ, boost bass and low mids and cut the treble.