EMG P - Any good?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by JohnWest, Feb 21, 2014.

1. JohnWest

JohnWest

I can't find any review of this pickups. Anyone has it? I have no experience with EMG. :(
  2. Isotonic

Isotonic Supporting Member

I played through one years ago. If it's the original model, I think you will find it to be fat, focused and clean. It has very good note definition. Some people find this to be somewhat sterile. I liked it in the short time I played through it, but it was not for long and my playing has changed a lot since then. I think I will try it again. Lot's pros love EMGs though. I have heard they record very well.
  3. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

If you like EMG's I think they are excellent.
  4. tylerwylie

tylerwylie Supporting Member

I love the EMG PX pickup in my Fender, the JX doesn't handle the 7.25" radius too well though. I've used the EMG 35P before as well in an ESP bass. I love how they sound for a P pickup.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. testing1two

testing1two Gold Supporting Member

7. Clouz

Clouz The Ayatollah of Jack and Cola Supporting Member

i'm really happy with my new EMG Geezer Butler P bass PU.
  8. Webtroll

Webtroll Rolling for initiative Supporting Member

Years ago I had a P bass with an EMG PJ set and it was the best sounding bass I ever owned.
  9. kurosawa

kurosawa Supporting Member

I'm guessing you're asking about the original, which is the most common active EMG P model found used. If so:

It's civilized. Sweet. The best ensemble blend you can get out of a P pickup, IMO. My pick if I could have only one P pickup to do everything from big band to rock to cocktail combo.

Matter of fact, I just did get one bass, and I reached in the junk box and yup, the old EMG P is going in there. I have a '62 RI and an original '73 somewhere. Nah.