EMG

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by GODSBASSMAN, Dec 17, 2012.


  1. GODSBASSMAN

    GODSBASSMAN

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,641
    Location:
    S. Carolina
    using a EMG BTS control, can an active passive switch be installed?
     
  2. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12,590
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    Anything with a one input and one output can be bypassed.
     
  3. GODSBASSMAN

    GODSBASSMAN

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,641
    Location:
    S. Carolina
    Thanks - I found some other threads showing you right.
    Another question using Emg tone controls can the 25k pots be switched to 250 or 500k pots for volume?
     
  4. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12,590
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    Any pot that is a part of the preamp needs to be whatever value EMG specifies for proper operation. If it's a volume or blend or passive tone pot, however, you can use whatever suits the pickup impedance and your personal preference.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SGD Lutherie

    SGD Lutherie Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10,388
    Location:
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    Are you using the BTS with passive pickups? Then you would want a 250 or 500k passive tone control. With the active EMGs it should be what they come with. The passive EMG tone control doesn't work very well. The active one is better.
     

Share This Page