EMPRESS compressor vs Keeley 4 knob compressor

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by 2string1, Nov 17, 2013.

1. 2string1

2string1 Supporting Member

I have a Keeley 4 knob comp coming,compliments from Keeley. I'm just wondering if it is as good as the Empress without all the lights?

2. 2string1

Any opinions please....

3. BFunk

BFunk Gold Supporting Member

Ok, since you asked so nicely twice, I will give you my answer. I have owned both. The Keeley comp is ross-based. Ross-based comps suck on bass. The Empress comp is far superior on bass. Hands down the winner. No contest. Not even close.

4. 2string1

Well...Thank You... Does anyone else feel the same way?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Swift713

Swift713

7. 2string1

All ready been there. Lots to choose from but I need real world experience with them. I have been using a rack rig since 1998 with a DBX 160A and have recently gone micro. I love the DBX and want something close to it. Seems the Empress is close. I like the indicator lights,very close to the DBX 160a. Those lights tell me a lot.

8. 2string1

Does this EMPRESS work off a 9 volt battery?

9. aledeville

aledeville

Jup it does. And it's a great compressor, the blend knob really does it.
    Keeley? Who's that? :ninja:

10. 2string1

About to pull the trigger,anybody care to stop me?

11. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

On what? An Empress? They make an awesome comp.

I've never been a fan of the Keeley stuff on bass. It's great on guitar though.

12. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    I would choose the Empress over the Keeley every day and twice on Sundays.

13. blindrabbit

blindrabbit Supporting Member

Empress is the way to go. Not even close.

14. petrus61

petrus61 Supporting Member