1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Epiphone EB-0 Project

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by DRay521, Jun 25, 2012.

1. DRay521

DRay521 Supporting Member

Hey guys. I believe this is my first thread started in the Luthier's Corner, but I've been a longtime visitor and love the work you all do. I recently picked up a Korean Epi EB-0 at a local music store for super cheap, but it has a lot of cosmetic damage. Most of it is superficial and doesn't really bother me, but I've wanted a project for a while now so I've decided to strip it and stain it. But as I have no experience in this, I'm asking for a little advice.

I lucked up and found that the bass has a one-piece mahogany body, with a transparent red stain and a poly coating. From what I've gathered in my lurking on this forum:ninja:, I think I'll try Citristrip to take off the poly coating. For the back of the neck, I plan on masking off the fingerboard and removing the neck from the body. I'm wondering whether or not the red stain will come off with this, or if I'll need to do some sanding when I get down there. Also, do I need to worry about the Citristrip weakening the glue that holds the fingerboard to the neck, or will proper masking eliminate that concern?

I plan on doing a matte oil-based stain, maybe with a little cherry or walnut tint to it, so I'm wondering what you guys would recommend for that as well.

I'll post more questions as they arise. And if pictures would help any of you with suggestions or anything, let me know and I'll try to get some up. Thanks in advance for the help TB'ers!!!

2. DRay521

This is my first refinishing project, so any tips you have would be greatly appreciated.

3. hdracer

hdracer Supporting Member

Make sure it is solid mahogany.
    A lot of the Epi EB-0's have plywood body's