Epiphone viola

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RoccoI, Feb 10, 2014.

1. RoccoI

RoccoI

Any opinions on these? Looking at one for my first bass. I'm a pure beginner and like these. Found one for 230 used.
  2. Hotblack

Hotblack Pay the cost to be the boss. Supporting Member

They are nice basses for not much money, but you should be aware of a few things:

1. It's a short scale bass. It measures 30". Many other basses will measure 34" or 35". (That's the distance from bridge to nut.)

2. The pickups are pretty low output. It's not a big deal if you have an amp with plenty of wattage. You could also get a preamp pedal or change the electronics.

3. The one piece bridge makes perfect intonation (tuning across the fretboard) pretty tough. It won't be anything egregious, but if you become a stickler, it may get on your nerves.

These aren't necessarily problems, just stuff to know before you buy. That said, I have one and love it.
  3. Pentatonic

Pentatonic Gold Supporting Member

These basses are very well built and they sound nice with a more diverse tonal palette than one might expect. They are not true hollow bodies though and seem quite heavy for their size with severe neck dive.

I looked closely at one and chose a Rogue viola bass instead http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/rogue-vb100-violin-bass-guitar I did so even though I suspected that the build quality on the Epiphone was probably better. I am very happy with the Rogue and it is a true hollow body. Sounds great with flats on it and only weighs 5lbs. Still has neck dive but not as severe as the Epiphone.

All that said, for a first bass I would be inclined to reccomend a Squier P bass, Jazz bass or similar.
  4. RoccoI

RoccoI

Thanks for the replies. In going to my local long and mcquade on Friday and try some out.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. GIBrat51

GIBrat51