1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

EQ tips?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by We_are_peppers, Nov 5, 2013.

1. We_are_peppers

We_are_peppers

I'm completely self taught, and still fairly new to gigs. I have serious trouble getting a desirable tone out of my amp sometimes, and I'm looking for tips on how to EQ. What has the most effect on different aspects of the sound? (I play a blend of alternative, Jazz and punk if that helps). I'm on a budget so I usually play through Peavey Headliner cabinets. (800watt 2X10 8ohm)
  2. JohnMCA72

JohnMCA72

1st tip: A question about amps might get better response in the "Amps" forum.

2nd tip: Start out "flat", whatever that happens to be for your rig. "Flat" means no boost or cut of any frequency range, in other words no modification at all to the tone of your instrument & amp.

3rd tip: Experiment with the EQ controls that your amp has, one at a time. Boost a little, until you can hear what it does, then return to "flat". Cut a little, until you can hear what it does, then return to "flat".

4th tip: Avoid boosting if you can. Instead of boosting one band, cut others. Whatever you boost comes out of your overhead & you'll clip sooner than you'd probably like. Exception if you're trying to create a certain distorted tone.