Ergo Amp Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by clokwise, Feb 11, 2014.

1. clokwise

clokwise

Hi,
    I am aware this has probably been asked but I am new to the EUB game so I don't quite understand all of the variables that go into choosing an EUB amp.

I am a long time electric bass player and have a decent amp for my jazz bass. I play through a GK with no preamp or anything, just straight in. And it sounds fine. But I know since the Ergo uses piezo pickups there are different variables. I keep seeing lots of stuff about impedance, and using several different preamps and such. I just don't know what I need to be looking for.

Can anyone give me an idea of at least what to look for when researching? I'd ideally love to have something fairly small (not tiny) but small combo amp. I'd prefer to not not lug around a head and cab combo like I currently do.

Thanks for the help (and possible ridicule for posting this) ahead of time!

2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Find out what the input impedance is on your GK. If it's 1Mohm or higher, you should be ok with the ergo. If it's less, I would get an Fdeck pre. Start there. Then, If you want a new amp, there are myriad discussions on this topic. Search around.

3. clokwise

clokwise

How do I test the impedance? Not sure how to do that...

Thats kind of the thing. What exactly am I looking for with amps? Im not necessarily looking for a specific brand suggestion, just the specifics the amp needs in order to be a good match for the Ergo.

4. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Go to the GK website or your owners manual and look at the specs! :hyper:

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. clokwise

clokwise

7. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Yes, 1 Mohm should be fine. Now you have to play around with your current amp and speaker and try and get a sound you like. It may take a while. Remember, the Ergo itself may not be capable of a sound you like, so take that into consideration.

8. clokwise

clokwise