Ever been trapped under Bench Press without spotter?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Rush-2112, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Rush-2112

Rush-2112

So this question came into my head earlier when I was at the gym. I usually have some gym buddies, but every so often I go on my own if I have to. I wanted to do some chest, but told myself I wouldn't push it too heavy because I had no one to spot me. So I got to wondering, what would one do if one were to get stuck under the bench press? This can go for either the traditional free weight barbell, or Smith machine (which I assume would be tougher because you can't just "roll it off" like a barbell).

Have you ever been in this predicament, and what did you do? If not, what do you think you'd do?

2. i_got_a_mohawk

i_got_a_mohawk

Probably came close when I started lifting, the only time I can really remember having bother on the bench was when I got a killer calf cramp coming out of the hole. Talk about being taken by surprise! I try to stay within my capabilities, can feel if I'm not going to make the next rep, rarely had a spotter.

Rolling it would also be an option, on a smith could you not just try and catch the barbell on the lower notches, if you can get it up a bit?

3. pacojas

pacojas "FYYA BUN" Supporting Member

it happened to me at a weight i was used to, lol. i yelled for help to some buddies that were chatting right next to me. once, my spotter spotted some girls butt instead of me and my shoulder popped,... OUCH!!!

4. Ziltoid

Ziltoid Supporting Member

No. I don't do lifts I can't finish when I don't have a spotter. Also, the smith machine I use has stoppers you can set to the height you want. I don't use it to bench press but perhaps the one at your gym can do that to.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BioDriver

BioDriver A Cinderella story Supporting Member

No. I use DBs when I'm not with a spotter.

7. chadds

chadds

Don't half notes weigh less than whole notes?

8. iamlowsound

iamlowsound