1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Experience with a jam band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by brlottermann, Apr 21, 2012.

1. brlottermann

brlottermann

Hey,
    I'm a bassist in a funk/jazz/rock band and we feel like we've got a lot of potential, however our vocalist/keyboardist is extremely busy and can never perform. So the guitarist, drummer and I have been playing with the idea of doing some sort of Medeski Martin & Wood style jam band gigs as a trio. We would have a set of chord progressions or riffs or ideas that we would improvise off of on stage.

Does anyone have any experience with playing in a jam band like this? I am just trying to gather as much info as possible in regards to what makes a good jam band, what level of preparation or rehearsal is actually required if most of what I'm playing is just improvised, etc. ye four of us jam every day for at least an hour, so we feel each other already when we play.

Thanks!

2. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya

I've played in a number of jam bands over the years, but despite that experience I'm having a really hard time putting my thoughts into words! There's a lot that goes into an exceptional jam band, and a lot of it comes down to the talent (and ego) of the members in the group. Here are a few things to keep in consideration if you guys decide to go the jam route:

- Listening is the key to any successful jam group. Band mates who don't listen well won't play well in these kinds of bands. That means each member can't have an ego and be all about the 'me show', and it also means that they have to be good enough to know what's going on and how to support the other parts as they happen on the fly.