Extremely microphonic double bass pickup

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Henry Saint, Aug 24, 2013.

1. Henry Saint

Henry Saint

Hi everyone

I'm a band leader with a real problem. I love my bassist, he's an amazing player but his sound and the constant feedback issues are really starting to get to me.

It's so bad I can hear myself talking through his amp from about 10ft away. The feedback seems to be happening around 800Hz-3k which seem friggin NUTS to me. Surely these freqs shouldn't be ringing so hard??? It's not like it's low mids and lows like the kind of double bass feedback I'm used to dealing with.

We are a Chicago-style blues band playing very small venues. We don't play super loud. I use a 12watt Fender Princeton Reverb (yes, I'm a guitar player and singer - don't hold it against me, I'm also a bassist, drummer and keyboardist). Vocals go through a single 200watt powered speaker.... on my iPhone db meter we get up to about 98-100db at our absolute loudest, and that ain't often during a show. We are very dynamic... and he feeds back when we play quietly too.

He refuses to consider another pickup option 'cause it's his 'sound' . . . frankly I'm considering firing him and getting someone who actually has their **** together. I've worked with double bassists who have nothing like the problems I'm having with this guy. But he really is a killer player and I'd like to be able to recommend a pickup/pre-amp/amp combination that will minimise these issues.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Not sure what pickup he's using - but it's definitely piezo, about 20 years old, and ridiculously microphonic. He's playing through a GK112RB into a 15" EV cab he insists on putting on a keyboard stand at 'ear height' in front of him. The whole thing is driving me mad.

HELP!

2. skychief

skychief Gold Supporting Member