Fairly new GK setup with buzzing

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by 707GK, Feb 10, 2014.


  1. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Very interesting problem I'm getting with my fusion550 + neo410(8ohm) + EBMM sterling 4HH, no effects, I jus run straight from my bass into the amp. I'm getting buzzing/ farting on sustain only, almost every note, regardless if it is a single note or a chord. The amp sounds fine if I'm riffing and don't let the notes sustain, and it can't be heard when playing with my band. We just did some recording and going direct or through just the head using the direct out in post eq mode, I wasn't experiencing this noise. This is my first amp with any kind of tubes in it...It sounds similar to what I've heard preamp tubes sound like going out, but this amp is less than a year old so I have trouble believing it's the tubes. Any suggestions? I haven't ever turned the gain or master knobs past 12 o'clock so I doubt anything is wrong with the speaker cabinet, but the fact that it's not happening in post eq direct out makes me hesitant to just rule out the cab at this point.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,448
    Location:
    White Plains
    When was the last time you changed the battery in your bass?
     
  3. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    I was hoping it was that, but I just put a new battery in over the weekend and it didn't help.
     
  4. dwjazz54

    dwjazz54

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Jersey City, NJ
    That was the first thought I had, too.

    Maybe you could describe the sound in more detail?
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    It sounds as if you were listening to a radio station in your car as you are driving out of that radio stations reach. Very staticky
     
  7. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    When I get off work I'll try to get a sound clip of it
     
  8. dwjazz54

    dwjazz54

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Jersey City, NJ
    I like the description!

    Have you tried different cables? You might have a bad one.
     
  9. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    I will try a different cable tonight, but the cable seemed fine when I was plugging direct into the sound board. And we used the same cable to record keys with no problems, that was just last weekend, maybe 8 or 9 days ago.
     
  10. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,448
    Location:
    White Plains
    Dimmer switch in the room? Florecent lights?
     
  11. dave_p

    dave_p

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    588
    take a pencil and start tapping the tubes with the eraser end.

    1 year means nothing in tube world, you can get a microphonic tube that was marginal right out of the factory.
     
  12. Jim Carr

    Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,545
    Location:
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    Disclosures:
    AFM 72-147 union card-carrying liberal academic musician
    Set the head on the floor, preferably on a thick towel to isolate it from cabinet vibrations. If the noise does not occur, you have a bad pre-amp tube.
     
  13. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Awesome responses everyone, thank you for the input. I'll be taking my rig home from our practice space to try to isolate the sounds. From my experiences in bands with guitar players using tubes, it sounds a lot like a preamp tube going bad...but I guess I'm just surprised at how soon. Anyone know if my warranty will be bad if I change the tubes myself?
     
  14. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    So I'm stumped. :confused: I brought my rig home from our practice space and tried various combinations of amps/cabs/cables and I can't get this sound to happen again. I plugged my 400RBIV into the neo410 in full range mode, I tried the fusion in biamp mode, I tried the fusion into a crappy little Crate 1x15....they all sounded great. I tried putting my settings at practice/gig level and my neighbor told me it was too loud (maybe about 1/3 gain & master...) so stopped my testing for the evening.

    So it seems that the only time we can detect this noise is towards the end of our practice sessions, in our rehearsal space, with gain & master knobs between 10o'clock & 12o'clock. :mad:
     
  15. Jaco who?

    Jaco who?

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,575
    Not happening in post EQ di suggests a wonky speaker cable, or something in the cab itself. It seems like with a bad tube(s), the pa would sound bad too, but I'm just throwing out ideas here..........
     
  16. nashman

    nashman

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    448
    Electrical/power issues at your practice space?
     
  17. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    It's probably something like this.


    Electrical doesn't seem to be the best at the practice space....when using a crappy backup bass at times I will pick up radio signals and in between songs we get to listen to baseball games. Will power/electrical issues potentially cause any problems to the amp/speakers?
     
  18. SirMjac28

    SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Location:
    The Great Midwest
    I wonder if a power conditioner would help?
     
  19. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Yeah I'm thinking the same thing. Gonna do some research and see which one is a good one, purchase one and see if it helps.
     
  20. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,448
    Location:
    White Plains
    I highly doubt it would. They really don't condition anything, it's just a power strip in a box.

    The backup bass issue you are having sounds more like a shielding issue with the bass, or a crappy cable.
     
  21. 707GK

    707GK

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    So from what I've been reading (and by what you said above bassgod), power conditioners are essentially the same thing as power strips. I'm looking into voltage regulators, don't know for sure but it sounds like this could potentially help. but damn these things seem to be pricey.
     

Share This Page