Famous players that only use four string?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by earlofmar11, Dec 11, 2013.

1. earlofmar11

earlofmar11 Supporting Member

I've been playing bass for about two years now (after more than 35 years of guitar) and only played 4 string basses until now. Recently I've been getting gas for a 5 string. So I'm trying to convince myself that I don't really need it. Restriction can be a good thing...

To support this, I've been thinking that there must be quite some famous bass players that stick to 4 string basses. I may be mistaken, but I think that some of my favourite players never use anything else: people like Chris Squire, Mike Rutherford, Geddy Lee or Pete Trewavas...

Is this correct? Do you know other famous examples (speaking of course of the time since 5 string basses are widely used)?
  2. bassteban

bassteban

Flea, Sting, Entwistle(RIP)...
  3. ToP fan

ToP fan Gold Supporting Member

Jamerson, Prestia, McCartney..............
  4. seang15

seang15 Supporting Member

Stanley Clarke, Victor Wooten mostly four. Jerry Jemmott, Duck Dunn etc.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. jloftin1

jloftin1

Jaco (someone had to be the first to say it) and justin chancellor.
  7. deernaes

deernaes

My opinion has always been that if you can't do it on a four string, you definitely can't do it on a fiver.....
  8. natw42

natw42 Gold Supporting Member

Some of the people mentioned so far have used 5 strings at times - Geddy, Flea, Macca.

An instrument is like any other tool - use whichever one you need to get the job done.
  9. 6stringpanda

6stringpanda

Actually the question should be who doesnt play 4 string.

Multi string basses are not more common than 4.

I have always played differently on a 4 string-as a 6 and 7 string solo player-I see them all as different instruments.

I also see the 6 and 8 string guitar as completely different instruments and I play them differently.
  10. el murdoque

el murdoque