1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Famous players that only use four string?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by earlofmar11, Dec 11, 2013.

1. earlofmar11

earlofmar11 Supporting Member

I've been playing bass for about two years now (after more than 35 years of guitar) and only played 4 string basses until now. Recently I've been getting gas for a 5 string. So I'm trying to convince myself that I don't really need it. Restriction can be a good thing...

To support this, I've been thinking that there must be quite some famous bass players that stick to 4 string basses. I may be mistaken, but I think that some of my favourite players never use anything else: people like Chris Squire, Mike Rutherford, Geddy Lee or Pete Trewavas...

Is this correct? Do you know other famous examples (speaking of course of the time since 5 string basses are widely used)?
  2. bassteban

bassteban

Flea, Sting, Entwistle(RIP)...
  3. ToP fan

ToP fan Gold Supporting Member

Jamerson, Prestia, McCartney..............
  4. seang15

seang15 Supporting Member

Stanley Clarke, Victor Wooten mostly four. Jerry Jemmott, Duck Dunn etc.
  5. jloftin1

jloftin1

Jaco (someone had to be the first to say it) and justin chancellor.
  6. deernaes

deernaes

My opinion has always been that if you can't do it on a four string, you definitely can't do it on a fiver.....
  7. natw42

natw42

Some of the people mentioned so far have used 5 strings at times - Geddy, Flea, Macca.