Far fetched idea

Discussion in 'Ask Janek Gwizdala' started by melodiaopus, Nov 17, 2012.

1. melodiaopus

melodiaopus Supporting Member

Hi Janek,

I'm a huge fan of yours and have been following you for quite some time, probably since you're first podcast. I know that being a highly sought after bassist and clinician has taken up a lot of your time. Not to mention your website and creative mind composing tunes. But I had a few questions to ask you that may be a little far fetched, but it's better for me to ask than not.

Let me start by saying that I have been playing for about 12 years and have been really serious about being a bassist and musician for the last 3 or four years. I have been accepted to Berklee College of Music with a half scholarship. But, I wanted to weigh some options for myself. I live about 10 hours North of Los Angeles, which I know you reside now. So, my question is: Could there be a chance that I can some how take private lessons with you? I would move down to LA and not go to Berklee if this was at all a possibility. I have been subscribing to your videobasslessons website for quite some time now, plus I have bought your book. But I feel a disconnect and need for more specific focus on my instrument. You're playing and knowledge is the same direction I would like to take my playing.

I just want to weigh my options from going to Berklee to studying from my favorite bassists. I have my B.A. in Music from a local University that was a total waste of my time. The school's music program was very grim and I have learned more from your lessons than I did in the 2 years I attended school. So, with that being said I think that my focus and drive compares to what is needed and wanted from a professional musician. It would be a dream of mine to be your apprentice or you my mentor.