1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

"Favorite bass player"...?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by LadyThunder, Jun 14, 2012.

1. LadyThunder

LadyThunder

I'm relatively new to playing bass and started taking lessons last month. My teacher is awesome, experienced in both playing and teaching bass and I always leave my lesson time motivated to pratice so I 1) won't forget what I just learned and 2) to master what I just learned so I can keep learning more.

Lesson before last, my teacher asked me who my favorite bass player is. Truth is, I really don't have one. I listen to a lot of different bands, but I never mentally singled out a bass player unless they were noticeably bad to my untrained ears. It's not like a specific bassist or band got me playing bass... my 30 year-old self just wanted to learn something new and my sister has a P-Bass that she hasn't played in some years. I enjoy music a lot, so why wouldn't I want to learn to play a musical instrument? $90 later for a complete set up (it was in BAD shape) and I was good to go on this adventure.

Before I digress any further from my original point in posting this post, I want to know... who is your favorite bass player? Also, in your opinion, which specific bass players should I give a listen to? I like a wide variety of styles and ages of music, though 90s music is what's most played on my iPod. As far as bass lines and such go, I've recently realized that I like those of songs from the 50s-60s.

2. NightTripper

NightTripper