1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Favorite Bassists' Covers

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by deeptubes, Feb 19, 2013.

1. deeptubes

deeptubes

I've been playing for 26 years. I've decided that I don't want to learn any more of my favorite bassists tunes. I've found that they just come to me really easy. Too easy. I grew up a huge Iron Maiden fan. I can play virtually any Maiden tune blindfolded, literally. Been a Tool fan almost 20 years. Just started learning some of their basslines. Now that I'm figuring them out, I'm finding them to be much more simplistic than I had anticipated. It's rather disappointing. When I learn them, it's stripping them of the mystique I had attached to them. So, I will continue to enjoy my faves. But only with my ears, not with my hands. I want them to remain magical.
  2. mjac28

mjac28 50th Anniversary Ed Sullivan February 9, 1964 Gold Supporting Member

Now what are you going to play sir? I'm just the opposite and I know you are a better bassist than I am but for me when I listened to my Beatles the basslines seemed so simple but when you learn the songs the basslines are more complex than you think they are and I found a new love for Paul's bass playing as well as his writing process.
  3. deeptubes

deeptubes