fEARful precut flat pack - advice needed!

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by mgcasella, Nov 4, 2012.

1. mgcasella

mgcasella

I'm seriously considering purchasing a fEARful 1515/66 Precut Flat Pack from speakerhardware.com

I have plenty of experience with woodwork and joinery work to be able to successfully build this cab so I'm not worried about that.

My questions:

1. Has anyone else has done this? If so, was the quality of the pack is decent?

2. Will I be able to find any of the speakers, crossover, etc at good used prices? I'm not even sure what fEARful uses, actually...

3. I want to get this covered with Line-X. Has anyone here done that? There's a place near me that does truck beds - is it possible to go there to get it done? I have no experience putting tolex on a cab which was why I was thinking of doing this :eyebrow:

Thanks for the info! :bassist:
  2. smeet

smeet Gold Supporting Member

I built a 15/6/1 from their flat pack, worked great, it's been my main cabinet for the past year or so. Leland (speakerhardware) has everything you need on the website, from speakers to crossover components to fully built crossovers. The recommended covering (and the easiest to apply) is DuraTex. I have no woodworking experience and it turned out great. This should be child's play for you, and you will end up with an amazing speaker cabinet.

For more info, check out http://www.greenboy.us/ , sign up for the forums here: http://greenboy.us/forum/ and you will get the most knowledgeable people helping you, including Dave (greenboy), who is the designer responsible for the fEARful plans.
  3. mgcasella

mgcasella

Whoa! I just found out that the second part of the package (crossovers, speakers, etc) will cost around $900! :eek:

It looks like there's no way I can afford one of these cabs - even if I build it and solder everything myself. I suppose I could use cheaper speakers, etc but I wouldn't know where to start.