Female bassists and your thoughts...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Zekkis09, Feb 16, 2013.

1. Zekkis09

Zekkis09

As a female bassist myself, I'm just wondering what everyone else thinks about us generally.
    I don't see any female musicians in bands of my chosen genre (metal, metalcore, deathcore etc...) which sucks but also gives me something to strive towards.
    I've had rejections from bands because "a girl in the band just wouldn't look right" which is a fair point I suppose, but still grinds my gears.
  2. Mr L

Mr L

My only problem with the female musicians I know is their tendency to be way to self conscious. Not saying this is the same with all girls but just the handful I know.

In rock/metal stage presence is important and that can require looking stupid at times. Lots of girls are afraid to put themselves out there and not care what people think.

I know a few guys like this as well but mostly I see it in the girls I play with.
  3. Silver Blues

Silver Blues

Good on ya, it's nice to see more girls in electric music of all kinds but the fact that you picked those particular genres is commendable, you're part of a rare breed.
    Talent has nothing to do with race, gender, or ethnicity. Keep on trying, I'm sure you'll come through eventually. And hey, any guys not willing to play with a talented female musician are missing out, IMO.

--Silvie
  4. bass4u

bass4u Supporting Member

I don't look at musicians as gender specific. I've mostly played in bands that
    have a mix of females and males, never really thought about playing in a gender specific band. I sub on bass in an all girl
    band on occasion and the female guitarist shreds better than most male guitarist I've worked with.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. sevdog

sevdog

"a girl in the band just wouldn't look right" is ABSOLUTELY NOT A FAIR POINT. And don't let anyone tell you that it is.