1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Fender American Select flame-top nitro : first parts build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by aphexafx, Feb 15, 2014.

1. aphexafx

aphexafx A mind is a terrible thing. Supporting Member

[​IMG] [​IMG]

(This is a parts assembly. I don’t think I’m a luthier; I just want to share and get some help and input on this one...)

Well I started out on a quest to build up a new Jazz bass with a aftermarket poplar body…I wasn't sure if I was even into that but I was looking for something to put together after having so much fun upgrading my P…but that got derailed when I found this perfect, drop-dead gorgeous, orphaned American Select flame-top nitro body. I kept going back to look at it because it’s just exactly how I love flame top grain in that it’s not overly contrasted, has nice even tiger stripes, and very subtle gradation. Soooooo I bought it and I’m so glad that I did because it’s just stunning in person. The iphone pics above do not capture it.