Fender American Vintage 62 P Bass vs. American Vintage 63 P bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Twangster101, Mar 31, 2014.

1. Twangster101

Twangster101 Supporting Member

I am debating on purchasing a Fender American Vintage Series P Bass and was wondering if anyone has any experience with the 62 vs. the 63. Are the necks the same as far as thickness from front to back? Also does the 62 have the slab fretboard and if so how does it feel compared to the 63? Which one would you prefer and why?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
  2. Twangster101

No opinions? Wow
  3. Rich McCoy

Rich McCoy

I have no experience, but that 63 in Sonic Blue is the bomb.
  4. R&B

R&B Don't want no treble. Supporting Member

T101, I have not yet gotten my hands on a '63. (The '63 sonic blue IS the bomb, at least in the looks department. And the Seminole red looks pretty hot too.)

I can tell you that the '62, at least my 2011 sunburst, is absolutely killer. I can't imagine paying 1.5-2 times the price for the '63. That nitro smell is intoxicating, build quality is fantastic and the tone with flats is pure Jamerson. Neck profile is super-playable once you adjust to the string spacing. That's saying something, because I prefer Jazz necks. The AVRI has a thick slab fretboard like a real '62. But mine stays in the case 99% of the time because I'm concerned I'll scratch it. :(

These pop up from time to time on TB. Great bass. One day I'll buy the '63-style pup cover and you won't be able to tell the difference except by the serial number! It's a forever bass.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jah Wobble Fan

Jah Wobble Fan

Media:
  7. u84six

u84six Nobody panic, the bass player is here! Supporting Member

I never played the '63 but I purchased a '62 about 10 years ago and it's still one of my goto basses. It just sounds amazing and I get tons of compliments every time I gig with it.
  8. 4andnomore

4andnomore