Fender Bass VI strings - "contrabass guitar" setup

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Skinr, Feb 8, 2013.

1. Skinr

Skinr

First things first: this is my first post here, and I was unsure if this should actually go in the Hardware forum, but here goes.

So, I have been playing bass for a little over two years now. During that time, I've also been attempting to teach myself guitar, but without a whole lot of success. I've been looking for a 'bridging' instrument for a while, and nearly fell out of my chair when I first came across the Fender Bass VI.

For me, this would be a great instrument: the thicker strings would let me play it fairly well, and the smaller space between the strings than most basses (especially a four-string!) would help me in becoming more mechanically proficient with guitar. I would buy this in a heartbeat, but there are two problems:

1) It's expensive.

2) It's electric and solid-bodied. This is really a minor thing, but I have also been smithing for an acoustic bass for almost as long as I've been playing.

My first idea was to get a 'normal' six-string bass and restring it/retune it like a guitar (EADGBe). But then I happened on these: http://www.daddario.com/DADProductDetail.Page?ActiveID=3769&ProductId=54

Even better, a user review on Amazon stated that, since these strings have guitar-sized ball ends (a characteristic that seems to be almost completely unique to the Bass VI), they were able to convert an electric guitar to an ersatz bass. :hyper:

Now, on to my idea (finally). My uncle just gave me a rather nice Seagull acoustic guitar, and I had the idea of restringing it with the Bass VI strings--thereby giving me an acoustic "contrabass guitar". This would also largely alleviate the problem of volume, as most of the strings are of a slightly lighter gauge than standard bass strings.

I have two questions that I'm hoping someone here can answer.

A) Will the string tension be so high as to damage the neck?