1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Fender Custom Shop basses sound great

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rob S, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Rob S

Rob S

While I am fairly new to bass collecting, I've ascended the learning curve pretty quickly. I've bought and mostly sold 60+ basses in the past 18 months. A few Rickenbackers, a few Stingrays and a few Jazz basses, but over 50 Precisions. A few from Japan which are very nice instruments and a few modern American Standards which are, frankly, probably all the bass anyone needs.

I've owned a lot of 1970s Precisions, and some very nice 1960's Ps. I am emotionally and aesthetically attracted to 1951-1966 Ps. I love custom color 1960's Precisions the most.

But the point of this post is just how uniformally great Custom Shop Precisions sound. And, while I am a hack player, we all have to acknowledge that the tone of a bass - how it sounds - should be the paramount consideration in choosing our instruments.

I bought a Pino bass last summer because I wanted an original finish fiesta red Precision . I'm not crazy about the relic'd treatment, but it just sounds awesome. More recently, I discovered sparkle finish Precisions. The originals are impossible to find. However, at a local GC I found and played a red sparkle finish Precision and it just sounded tremendous. This week, I discovered the Adam Clayton signature Precision with its gold sparkle finish. I purchased one today and with its Abby Ybarra pickups, it just sounds killer.

For me, as more a collector than player (but I love playing at home), the aesthetic is paramount in my selection process.

My post is really just to say that the Custom Shop instruments while being admittedly expensive, really do consistently provide The Sound.