1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Fender Medium Scale 1996 MIJ Jazz. Good or bad?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by xantometapon, Dec 16, 2013.

1. xantometapon

xantometapon

Hi folks,

I have been looking for a medium scale lefty Fender Jazz bass for a long while now, so when this one showed up on Ebay I just bought it.

It has a couple of big dings but overall it seems to be in pretty good shape.
    I am no Fender expert so I would like to ask you if Fender Japan had some bad years or I might expect a good bass.

Maybe I should have made some research prior to buying, but the bass had a lot of watchers, some offers and I did not want to let it go. You know...lefty, medium scale...that kind of bass does not show up very often, does it?

Any good/bad input about 1996 MIJ Fenders?

Cheers and thanks

2. hdracer

hdracer Supporting Member

CIJ, MIJ Fender's rock
    The best bang for the buck for a bass with Fender on the headstock

3. pudge

pudge Supporting Member

I had a 96 mij precision 32" scale.A great bass.Well made with no issues.I sold it to buy warmoth short scale parts to assemble my own.

4. MarkoYYZ

MarkoYYZ Supporting Member

MIJ Fenders are excellent instruments.

You are correct that a medium scale lefty would be quite rare, so as long as you feel you paid a fair price, you probably got a good deal.

Was this one of the Aerodyne's with the JJ pickup configuration, rather than typical PJ?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD Supporting Member

I believe that they're pretty sought after instruments.

7. xantometapon

xantometapon

Nope. Standard Jazz Bass with JJ pickups.

Thanks for the input

8. MarkoYYZ

MarkoYYZ Supporting Member