Fender USA Standard vs Deluxe Jazz Bass - Opinion

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bhoff5150, Feb 4, 2014.

1. bhoff5150

bhoff5150 Supporting Member

What's up guys? I've been playing out for over 22 years and just recently discovered the world of tube amps and passive basses. I've always played active basses with a very clean SWR amp setup but I recently acquired a Lakland DJ5 and a 1993 Ampeg V4B. I'm absolutely loving the combination and I think it gives me more control over the sound with how hard I play the strings. I'm loving the sound and it has me wondering what else is out there. So I'm looking for opinions of Fender Standard Jazz Basses vs. Fender Deluxe Jazz Basses. Any difference in the sound? Also how does the sound of the active/passive jazz basses stack up against the passive only jazz basses. Looking for opinions and experience. Thanks!!
  2. THE SAW

THE SAW

I hate urethane. It's a deal breaker for me. Yes, I may be an idiot, but that's my preference.
  3. EagleMoon

EagleMoon

IMO, the Fender Deluxes don't sound as good as the Standards. Fender does a great passive jazz, why mess with it?
  4. Malak the Mad

Malak the Mad Over the River and through the Looking Glass Supporting Member

If I may expand upon the OP's question; what are the opinions on Fenders with an active/passive switch. Say, for instance, any thoughts on the Reggie Hamilton Jazz?
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BillisCool

BillisCool

There is nothing that compares to the sound of a passive jazz getting beat on... IMO.

As far as passive mode on an active bass... The passive never sounds as good as the active... even if it is. Does that make sense? Ha
  7. BioDriver

BioDriver A Cinderella story Supporting Member