finding a new lover

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jimmynotch, Jan 24, 2014.

1. jimmynotch

jimmynotch

Perhaps a bit long winded.... but here goes.

I have been playing the same Peavey Dynabass Unity Series for 23 years. It has toured across the country multiple times, been broken and repaired and stolen and recovered. I have loved it, sweated on it, played the sh!t out of, and gotten every last inch out of this piece of wood that she has to give. She has made me bleed countless times as evidenced by the stains below her pickups. But all relationships have an end, and as of December, she has been retired to my wall as a monument to good ole' perseverance. The cost of a full fret job, complete new electronics and who-knows-what-else seems to point to replacement. So...

I recently bought a Cirrus "Darkwood" BXP as "test drive replacement" thinking if it feels right, I would buy a nice US made model. After a month of playing, I am not sold on it. Like every other basse I have dabbled with before the Cirrus, "something" is missing. Maybe its the satin finish versus the raw Koa of my old Peavey. I have considered stripping it to bare wood. I like the shape and how it feels strapped up, but I really missd the concave body of my old bass.

In my hunt for a new bass, I have narrowed down my criteria. I am looking for: A) 4 strings B) neck thru C) P/J or two soapbar humbuckers D) raw wood/oil finish. I have played at Cirrus (which I own), Ibanez BTB and SR900, Schecter, Warwick and a few others. It should be noted that I play a fairly punchy growly punk rock tone, but I have not really ever played a bass that I couldnt make sound good. I am far more concerned about my connection to my instrument than I am about brand or cost(within reason).