Finding Teacher = Exhausting

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by dannyk, Feb 6, 2014.

1. dannyk

dannyk Supporting Member

I Googled this site and browsed a lesson finder elsewhere looking for a teacher. On this site the results were disappointing; on the other site the results were overwhelming.

Can't a guy get a break? ;)

I'm looking for a teacher in the L.A./greater L.A. area. I'm assuming the best teachers are located in and around here - seems logical, right? L.A.? One of the few music meccas of the U.S.? I am willing to travel. (I live in the High Desert area.)

What I'm looking for, since I am a quasi-beginner to the bass guitar, is someone who can teach me correct technique. I can manage most everything else on my own. I just don't want to develop bad habits that will bite me in the rear later.

As a guitarist I developed said bad habits early on (25 years ago) that now limit me. I don't want to make the same mistake with the bass.

I found someone from the search here that looks promising - Ms. Carol Kaye. I have an email out to her. I'm crossing my fingers. Wait, scratch that - my email was just returned as undeliverable (spam filter, it seems). I am also emailing the local Cal State University's music program for referrals.

Is there anyone here who is available?

Thanks for your time,
    Dan

2. BobaFret

BobaFret Supporting Member

I would not rule out online (skype or similar) lessons. There are a ton of great pro players doing them.

Check out the Janek Gwizdala forum, I think he does them.

3. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I'm a Fuzzrocious-aholic. It's been one week since I bought my last Fuzzrocious pedal.
    It's worth the effort. If you can study with Carol, I would. Ignore the TB haters. The mere mention of her name gets their panties in a wad.

4. dannyk

dannyk Supporting Member