Finding "The One"

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Timmah, Mar 31, 2014.

1. Timmah

Timmah

... or the four, that is.
    I've been playing the same homemade bass for about five years now, and I've never been 100% happy with my tone. I love my bass to death, though- my dad and I made it together- but it's never produced that sound in my head. I've changed the pickups (a saga in itself), had it impeccably set up, played through a bunch of nice amps, and just haven't found "it" yet, possibly because of the construction of my bass.
    Those of you in the "wood doesn't matter" camp can stop reading now. :bag: My bass has a mahogany body and a five piece maple/sapele neck, with an ebony fretboard with stainless frets.
    This gives it a big if unfocused bottom end with pingy highs and quite frankly not a whole lot in between- so I guess I'm looking for a string with ultra-focused lows, strong mids, and a sort of subdued high treble response. What say ye, talkbass string senseis?

2. Jools4001

Jools4001 Supporting Member

I can say I started the search for the bass tone that's in my head 40 years ago and despite having spent tens of thousands on lots of different basses and a lot of gear along the way, I'm still looking.

Nobody can tell you where to start because nobody else can hear what is in your head, and trying to express it in words to other people is futile.

I would say, listen to plenty of recordings to get in the right ball park, then see if there is any common theme on the equipment front, then be prepared to tweak endlessly....

I don't want this to sound negative, you'll have a lot of fun on the journey.

3. Timmah

Timmah