Finding the right teacher

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Walpurgis, Dec 7, 2013.

1. Walpurgis

Walpurgis

I am 17, and I have been playing bass for a few years now. I don't like to "float my own boat" but I have gotten pretty damn good. I have outgrown most of the bass guitar teachers in my area (many of whom are not much more than a guitarist that happens to own a bass guitar and can show a beginner a trick or two), and I am not sure where to go from here. I want to further my musical education, but I don't want to waste my time and money sorting through teachers who want to teach me what I already know. I took and passed "Music 101" in the form of an AP Music theory class at my High School, and while my sight reading and timing improved considerably, my bass guitar technique did not.

I do have some idea of what I want to learn (odd time grooves, six string bass technique in general, chord inversions [Beyond 1st and 2nd inversions], 3 and 4 finger right hand techniques, Allan Holdsworth-esque scales [He basically can play any scale from any position on the fretboard, which i find impressive]) but I just don't think there is anyone out there to fit this match...

I guess what I am asking is where to find a teacher. Craigslist most likely won't cut it in my situation. I don't want to go to college for music because I would rather have money, and my local library only has so many books. It doesn't help that most of my influences don't actually play the bass guitar either (Tosin Abasi, Allan Holdsworth) although Jaco Pastorius is one of my all time favorites. Any advice? Is it even worth having a teacher or should I just keep learning on my own?
  2. fearceol

fearceol

While some people are happy to learn on their own, I think that generally here on TB the consensus is for a teacher.

You could always check out your local music store. They often have advertisement boards with teachers offering lessons. Another option is lessons through skype.