1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

finger (knuckle) joint pain

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by jmestman, Aug 2, 2010.

1. jmestman

jmestman

Hi - I've been playing double bass for about 4-5 months and have been playing alot - some days 3-4 hours.

I started getting a pain in my first joint on my right hand from plucking and eventually, it's gotten so bad (shooting pain when I do simple things like zip up zippers, etc.) that I've started using my second (middle) finger to pluck and I'm starting to get the same joint pain in that finger too.

So depressed! I've tried to use standard plucking technique (curling my finger slightly over the string and plucking with the top left side of the pad on the top of my finger. Is there another way?

Does anyone else have this problem? Is there anything that I might be able to adjust to minimize impact on my finger joint? It's my knuckle joint - the pain is mainly on the top left side.

Should I use my hand more for plucking and less motion on my joint?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated - I love playing but at this rate, I'm going to run out of fingers that I can play with.

:(

Thanks so much.
  2. Andrew Grandahl

Andrew Grandahl

Yes. I sometimes like to team up my pointer and middle finger too and sort of let one rest on top of the other. But your fingers shouldn't really be curled... think of it more as sliding your finger across the string rather than getting under and plucking the string.