1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Finger style help

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ColbyR2067, Dec 19, 2012.

1. ColbyR2067

ColbyR2067

Hi everyone, my name is Colby, and I'm new here
    I've been playing for around 4 years, and i consider myself an intermediate to advanced player.
    The thing is, I'm a pick player. I learned with a pick and I've always used a pick. When I first started I was really into metal and punk and stuff. Now, though, I've expanded my horizons and I'm getting very into jazz and solo bass type stuff. It's becoming very apparent that, while using a pick certainly isn't wrong, there are some genres and styles where fingerstyle is a much better option. I'm just scared that it's too late to learn.
    Can anyone give me some advice? Anything and everything is appreciated :)
    Thanks in advance!

2. Got2SadowskyNYC

Got2SadowskyNYC

Disclosures:
    Artist: Sadowsky, Bag End, Visual Sound, Pedaltrain, George L
    I sat in front of the TV and ran scales useing 2 fingers.

Play through the blisters. Once the callus gets built up you'll be fine.

3. lakefx

lakefx Supporting Member

It's never too late to learn. All it takes is dedicated purposeful practice.

4. Got2SadowskyNYC

Got2SadowskyNYC

Disclosures:
    Artist: Sadowsky, Bag End, Visual Sound, Pedaltrain, George L
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Russell L

Russell L