Fingers and picks, but thumb picks?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bogwart, Apr 15, 2014.

1. bogwart

bogwart

I've been playing bass off and on for 18 years now and have always played either in a punk band or praise and worship groups through the church. In the P&W bands, I generally played with fingers and in the early days I used heavy picks but I kept throwing them on stage. I saw a bass player using the Jim Dunlop thumb picks and thought I would give those a try and I've stuck with them ever since. I've noticed I'm less likely to toss one and in all my years I've only ever had one break during a song. My fingers are still completely available if I need them during a slower, quieter part of a song (even though admittedly I don't usually go that route for punk).

But, does anyone else play bass with a thumb pick? They certainly are harder to lose on stage, that's for sure. I've honestly never seen anyone else do it but in my opinion/experiences, it does make sense.

2. bluesdogblues

bluesdogblues

Media:
    Albums:
  3. Nev375

Nev375

Media:
    I do. Welcome to the club. And you are right, it's a very small club.

4. bogwart

bogwart

used a thumb pick, or just his thumb?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. N.F.A.

N.F.A. Supporting Member

It seems perfect to me. Tried it awhile back but didn't stick with it. Maybe I will give it another go!

7. bogwart

bogwart

Hey, thanks! It does seem to be a very small club. So, what's your pick of choice? Here's mine. I use a medium. http://www.jimdunlop.com/product/shell-plastic-thumbpicks

Now, my #1 drawback is that all of the picks I use are a heavier gauge. What I gain in comfort and feel I lose in speed. It's hard to get a thumb pick to flex quickly for some of our faster songs, but I've learned how to work around it.

8. bogwart

bogwart