1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Fingers getting hurt by the strings?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by FloydianPT, Jan 22, 2013.

1. FloydianPT

FloydianPT

Hey everyone,

I've been playing bass for almost two months now, and while in the beggining I favored playing with a pick, I've decided I'm going to be a finger bass player.

The problem is that now that I'm playing with my fingers, I'm really going at it everyday, but my fingers are getting shredded by the strings... My indicator finger had a blister first, and the next day my middle finger.

I know that at the beggining my fingers will hurt while they get used to playing bass, but the thing is, just before I switched to fingerplaying, I raised the bridge on my E string (because I wanted to get rid of a little buzz going on in there) and I've read in the internet that not doing so properly can put too much tension on the strings, therefore making it harder on my fingers.

Is this the case or is it just my fingers getting used to it?

2. Silver Blues

Silver Blues

Your fingers will get used to it. Exact same thing happened to me the first month or so, just stick it out.

--Silvie

3. TotteryManx

TotteryManx

The first few months I played I developed blistors as well. Your fingers will get use to it with time.

4. paganjack

paganjack

Completely normal! I can't remember the last time I had full feeling in most of my fingertips.

Source: I have played string instruments since about age 8.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. FloydianPT

FloydianPT

Nice to know, then. Really sucks, I want to play more then ever now and it's really hard with my fingertips like this! :bassist:

7. maxpayneatlarge

maxpayneatlarge

Don't lotion them up or anything, you want to build up those callouses.

Chris

8. FloydianPT