Finishing a neck help

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Dredmahawkus, Feb 12, 2013.

1. Dredmahawkus

Dredmahawkus Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I stuck a bass in my
    So I am about to buy a bubinga neck from Warmoth....and I saw a couple that the grain shined and really stood out....I loved the look! Can anyone give me some heads up on what to do to the neck when I get it? wet sand? tung oil? and a question about tung oil since I have never stained or oiled anything except my rosewood fretboard.....does it totally dry? I dont want oil all over my hands when I play! Does it stay nice and for how long? Do I have to re-oil often? I guess I just want some advice on how to prepare the neck to have a nice shine and have the grains really pop out and stay nice. I have searched for how to do this and really havent found much. I have no experience with wood!

oh and can you put tung oil on a Pau Ferro fretboard? or just treat it with lemon oil?

2. Stone Soup

Stone Soup

I use gun stock wax on my Stingray 5 neck. A few coats and you're good. It needs to be maintained periodically.

Years ago I used tung oil to refinish a bass. I was never happy with how it turned out, but the finish lasted pretty well. It needs to be maintained. It hardens, so you won't get oily hands.

3. Dredmahawkus

Disclosures:
    I stuck a bass in my
    I was told by someone who's neck I loved to wetsand it in let it dry 24 hours and wetsand again....is it the same with gun stock oil?

I bought the bubinga on bubinga neck today.....do I oil the fretboard with gunstock/tung? or just do it with like fretboard cleaner mineral oil stuff?

4. Steveaux

Steveaux

It's bubinga, you don't do anything to it.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Dredmahawkus

Disclosures:
    I stuck a bass in my
  7. Dredmahawkus

Disclosures:
    I stuck a bass in my