Firefighter Bassists unite - paramedics also welcome!

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Engine207, Dec 19, 2011.

1. Engine207

Engine207 Losing faith in humanity...one call at a time. Supporting Member

The closest I could find to this thread was this one: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f34/any-bass-playing-firefighters-here-664905/ in "Off-Topic". I think this forum is probably a better place for more of us low-end smoke-eaters.

I don't really do the "club thing", so if you guys are into numbers, someone else needs to hand 'em out. Shouldn't be that busy in here.

I've been a firefighter for almost 19 years, a paramedic for 15 of them and a captain for 6. I've thrown my bunkers in the cab of...wait for it...Engine 207 since 1999. Our house runs about 3,200 calls a year, mostly medical...if you want to call them that. :rolleyes:

I started playing bass in junior high, after some kid had La Villa Strangiato playing an 8-track on the school bus. I ran right over to Record City after I got home and bought Hemispheres. A month later I got a Peavey T-40, which was the closest I could get to copping a Ric sound. After a summer of mowing lawns and a winter of shoveling snow, I got my Ric 4001, which I still play often.

So, if you have bunkers and a bass...let's hear about ya!

2. GreggBummer

GreggBummer

I'm volunteer firefighter. I work as an EMT for a private company and I'm a paramedic student.

After nearly 14 years in the Army with two tours in Iraq, I took off my desert BDU's and put on bunkers. Went to the Fire Academy about two years ago... I was one of the oldest guys in my class.

I am mostly a truckie. I enjoy ladder work, but will do some engine and hose work if the opportunity presents itself. I'm an EMT for a living and I am developing a real love for paramedicine.

I play bass in a blues/rock band. We play very jammy kind of music that heavy on improvisation. Like Engine, I am also a T-40 lover and owner.