Firs build idea.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by frankenbass2014, Feb 8, 2014.

1. frankenbass2014

frankenbass2014

so after trolling this site for a few weeks and being inspired by what all you guya (and gals) are building, ive decided to make the step from piecing stuff together to a full on build. i dont have any major wood working tools (planer, band saw, table saw) and i really dont have room for them lol. my main tools are going to be the drill press at my garage, my hand drill, my dremel, my jigsaw, possibly my circular saw, and the greasy toolbox full of rasps and files i have.
    with that said, due to my limited wood working experience and lack of tools, ive decided to build a simple jazz bass copy, but with a thru body neck. i dont know why, but the thru body seems like it would be simpler to construct. if im wrong, call me out. and it will be a fretless, since i have zero experience installing frets and i play fretless.
    the body is going to be ash or alder, whichever i can find cheapest. the neck is where i cant decide.
    does the neck absolutely have to be maple? is there a less expensive wood that i can use? and is there an inexpensive fingerboard material? i ask this not to save money, but because i plan on finishing the entire instrument satin black, including the neck. when i seal the fingerboard im going to use black dyed epoxy. i dont see the point in buying a beautiful, expensive piece of stock if im just going to cover up the grain. so if i have other inexpensive options out there id like to know lol.
    as far as electronics, its goingto have simple passive j pickups, probably emg selects or something of that nature. i am not going for perfect gigger here, just want to have a bass i can say i built myself. and maybe if i like doing it, i can move on to bigger and better things lol. ideas? opinions? pros and cons?
  2. frankenbass2014

frankenbass2014