1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

First Bass Amp and Setup

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by frrstbrwn, Dec 29, 2013.

1. frrstbrwn

frrstbrwn

Hey TalkBass,

I recently bought an SX jazz bass for $70 from one of my friends who never played it. It's not bad sounding as far as inexpensive basses go, but currently I'm just playing it through a 30 watt Peavey Vypyr electric guitar amp.

I'm primarily a guitarist so I don't really know what to look for when it comes to bass amps. I usually play through a 75 watt Peavey Vypyr when I play guitar, so I'm looking for something with relatively the same volume output. I don't want to spend more than $400. Also, is there anything else I should be aware of as far as setup goes? I'd appreciate some guidance here...

2. Clouz

Clouz The Ayatollah of Jack and Cola Supporting Member

3. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

This is a great time in history to be a bass player with all the new ultra lightweight, compact, super powerful, and affordable bass gear on the market today.

In a nutshell, you're probably going to want at least 200 watts or more into a good sized cab - IE, 212, 410.

Lots of good manufactures to pick from - Gallien-Krueger, Ampeg, Carvin, Markbass, etc.

EDIT: With only a $400 budget you'll get more bang for your buck buying secondhand - checkout the TB for sale classified ads. http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f127/

4. frrstbrwn

frrstbrwn

Thanks! I had never heard of Ampeg so this was helpful. Also I didn't even know there was a classified ads section– thanks!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

Good grief! Where do you live?? Even a guitar player should have heard of one of the oldest musical instrument amplifier manufacturers! :)

7. frrstbrwn

frrstbrwn