First Bass Build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Aislinn, Feb 15, 2014.

1. Aislinn

Aislinn

:help:

I'm new here and I asked a question in the Basses section and was told to come here. I wouldn't call myself a luthier. I've only made one guitar. But I am a fairly decent woodworker.

Anyway, I'm just starting on a bass build. I last played bass in the mid-60s so I'm pretty clueless today. I've got most of the templates made and am now at that point where I need to decide what components to use.

I need to get the heel of the neck right so I'm trying to decide what pickguard I'll be using. I plan to buy the pickguard pre-made. This bass will be for my SO, who wants a small pickguard (like the JP-90) to show off the wood. The body will be bubinga. Of course, if it's a JP-90 type pickguard, the neck-body fit doesn't come into play.

I made two different 1/4" MDF templates for the body. One looks like a jazz bass body, the other like a P-bass body. My SO is leaning toward the the former.

Ideally, we were talking the dual, offset neck pickups and a bridge pickup with a mini-toggle switch for controls and three pots. I suppose if I had to, I could make the pickguard. I made one for a Tele and found duplicating the original VERY tedious.

Any guidance on what direction to go would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the scattered thoughts but, like I said, I'm pretty green.

2. Deep Cat

Deep Cat Supporting Member

Media:
    Do you have a question?

3. Aislinn

Aislinn

Sorry, yes.

What pickups would be good for someone wanting to play jazz and rock?

Would the mini toggle give you neck - bridge - both options? Or would that be unnecessary?

For pots, do you install 2 tone controls and 1 volume, like on the Strat? Is there any advantage to having tone & volume for each pickup?

Humbuckers or single coil?

We're thinking something versatile that has a warm sound but I don't know where to start.

4. Deep Cat

Media: