1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

First Build: 4string through-neck

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Zwieke, Jan 15, 2014.

1. Zwieke

Zwieke

So, let me start by introducing myself. My name is Joey, 26yo and from the Netherlands. I have been playing the bass for about 10 years, and have been occasionally passively browsing talkbass since 2006. My primary instument currently is a Fender Aerodyne Jazz which I love to bits.
    I am currently starting up my first build, and as I have gotten so much valuable information from the luthier's corner here at talkbass, I figured I should share my progress with you guys.

First of all, let me say that I have very very little woodworking experience. (I once hung a picture frame, does that count?) So please stand by for some major mistakes from my end, and facepalming on yours. ;)

So to introduce my first plans, of which the design will most probably change during the build:
    [​IMG]
    Specs:
    jazz-inspired 4-string
    through neck
    single string bridges (for no other reason than the s00per cust0m lookzZz)
    24 fret
    Seymour Duncan J-pickups which I salvaged from another bass I hardly play anymore.
    MOP block inlays (not sure about that yet)

Woods to be used:
    Maple neck with Padouk tapered laminate (for an idea on my plans see pic below)
    Bubinga body
    Wenge fretboard

[​IMG]

The current status is that I have made but still am refining my MDF routing templates:
    [​IMG]