First Build - FJ Special ( Fanned Fret Content)

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Cougmeister, Jan 31, 2013.

1. Cougmeister

Cougmeister

This is my first thread over here in the luthier's corner, but I've been a lurker here ever since joining TB.

This build is really a conversion, but it centers around a custom neck and bridge, both drop-in replacements.

Some background on the build - ever since joining here, I've had GAS really bad for a dingwall bass. I'm a college student and a new father, so my budget doesn't have room for boutique basses. One of my main basses, a MIM Fender Deluxe Jazz V, has left me wishing for more when it came to the B string. After searching of ways to improve it, I never came up with an effective way to get the sound I was after. Then it hit me - why not convert my Jazz into a fanned fret bass?

I began to talk to Geoff St. Germaine, and we have since come up with some rough specs for the neck. To really make this conversion effective though, I needed to come up with a new bridge.

I'm currently a Machine Tool Technology major, so I have experience in metalworking and have access to the machines to make my own bridge.

So now the adventure begins. Geoff will be sending me neck plans this weekend and I am in the process of designing the new bridge.

Neck specs:

Maple neck
    Indian rosewood fretboard
    Standard size fretwire
    Fanned frets - 37"-34" scales
    3 + 2 Fender style headstock
    Dual action trussrod
    Corian nut
    Gloss Nitrocellulose finish
    Pau abalone front and side dots - Dingwall style
    12" radius fretboard
    C neck profile, 0.75" 1st fret, 0.875" 12th fret
    1 7/8" nut
  2. Cougmeister

Cougmeister

Neck Specs added to OP.
  3. Cougmeister

Cougmeister

Here's the first bridge design. I have to say that this is my least favorite, as it leaves screw holes exposed and the bridge is only held on with two screws.

Attached Files:

4. Cougmeister

Cougmeister