1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

First build (sort of) 5 string

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by jack67rs, Dec 2, 2012.

1. jack67rs

jack67rs

I wanted to share this project with everyone that I've been working on for the last several months. I was not sure how it was going to turn out or turn out at all, so I really have not photographed a whole lot of the progress. Let me start off by saying I did not start from scratch on this. I have been wanting to try building a guitar for some time and came across an ad in the classifieds here on talk bass selling several necks and bodies in the early stages. Some of you might have seen his builds here in this section, Jason A is the individual I purchased the whole lot from. I had been following several of his builds for some time and at one point almost bought one of his completed basses. Thanks again Jason.

This was the perfect opportunity for me to get started slowly with the idea of do a complete build in the near future. I received all of these with the bodies cut out and necks assembled. The work I performed on this one including carving the neck, fretting, leveling and recrowning the frets. Also drilling the tuner holes and raidiusing the fingerboard which I did at a 16" radius. The body required shaping and sanding the belly contour, routing the pickups and electronics covers, mounting the bridge and input jack.