First Gig Amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by bassist_anubis, Apr 15, 2003.

1. bassist_anubis

bassist_anubis

Ok, I started playing bass 3 months ago, I'm getting pretty good at it, but I am still borrowing the schools bass and I don't have my own practice amp, I'm strapped for cash because of I'm starting college in sept.

I want to jam with friends and do very small gigs with them, but I want a bigger amp then the traditional practice amp, should I get a larger amp (and what size), or stay on the practice amp for a while?
  2. brianrost

brianrost Supporting Member

Get a larger amp NOW.

Small practice amps are a complete waste of money. You can practice just as well on a big amp as a small one but you can't jam or gig with small amps.

For $100-200 you can find used Peavey or Crate amps that will be plenty loud for jamming and even the sort of gigs you might land in college (frat parties, etc.).

Any combo amp of 100 watts or more and a 15" speaker will do the trick: Peavey TNT, Peavey "Combo", Crate BX-160, etc.
  3. wulf

wulf

A bass of your own might also be useful before you hit September. It might be worth sitting down and doing a little cash flow analysis (figuring any useful events like birthdays, etc) to see what you might have to spend.

I'd agree with brianrost that a practice amp isn't really worth it. Something reasonably large (albeit transportable) would be good - and it would be worth looking at what you can get second hand as well.

Reliability and a good amount of volume are probably more important than 'tone to die for' and 'drop dead gorgeous looks'.

Wulf
  4. bassist_anubis

bassist_anubis

I tried looking at larger amps and I found that I could get pretty good deals with a used amp, now I know sterio amps from the 70's last forever but is it the same with bass/guitar amps?